Bookish Content, Uncategorized

June Monthly Hopefuls

This is the month where I get through my full TBR…well that is what I am hoping for but we will have to see!

Here is a picture of my monthly spread! I am in love with how it turned out, and I feel like this image I took just does not give it justice! I have changed up the layout a bit no longer having my monthly TBR at the bottom and just having my reading log. My monthly TBR is now in place of my blog post calendar as I am no longer going to colour in when I post on this blog.

Last month I managed to read 3 books out of the 6 books on my hopeful list but 6 books in total which is not too bad. This month the goal is to read them all – and I really have a good feeling about it!

I am sticking with 6 books again to be on my hopeful list as I think that is an achievable number after the total I read in May, so what is stopping me? Probably distractions that I need to be stricter on (ahem social media ahem)!

The books that I am brining over from the month of May are Heroes of Greece and Troy by Roger Lancelyn Green and The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum. I am hoping to have these finished within June, but they will not be featured on the hopeful to be read.

Clytemnestra by Costanza Casati

Mother. Monarch. Murderer. Magnificent.

You are born to a king, but marry a tyrant. You stand helplessly as he sacrifices your child to placate the gods. You watch him wage war on a foreign shore and comfort yourself with violent thoughts of your own.

You play the part, fooling enemies who deny you justice. Slowly, you plot.

You are Clytemnestra.

This is an exciting hopeful for this month as I will be going to the book signing and launch of her to be published novel Babylonia, so I knew I had to read at least one book from the back list.

This continues the theme of Greek Mythology and follows the story of Clytemnestra, the wife of Agamemnon, during the Trojan war. I have read a few novels or retellings now linking back to this time period and enjoyed the majority of them, so I am excited to see her take on it.

A Day of Fallen Night by Samantha Shannon

“In A Day of Fallen Night, Samantha Shannon sweeps readers back to the universe of Priory of the Orange Tree and into the lives of four women, showing us a course of events that shaped their world for generations to come.”

Ok this has been on my hopeful list for a couple of months now, but this is the month that I get round to reading it.

It is listed in one of my anticipated reads for 2024 and one of the books I want to get round to before the year ends.

Also I have to say the cover art is outstanding for this (now) series. I really hope that she continues to use this art for the rest of the books for this series as it is just stunning.

It is also in my 5 star prediction post, so I have very very very high expectations…wish me luck!

Just for the Summer by Abby Jimenez

“It’s supposed to be a quick fling, just for the summer. But when Emma’s toxic mother shows up and Justin has to assume guardianship of his three siblings, they’re suddenly navigating a lot more than they expected–including catching real feelings for each other. What if this time Fate has actually brought the perfect pair together?”

I have never read an Abby Jimenez book and I am now realising that this is a third in a series…oh well!

I have heard nothing but good reviews about this book so I am looking forward to stepping into this world! Honestly, I am going in completely blind so we shall have to see how it will go!

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

“Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity’s overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society’s ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies… even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.”

A science fiction that I have been looking forward to reading ever since buying it last Black Friday! I heard about it from Haley Pham and she loves the series, so I am looking forward to finally starting it…although I have started quite a few series whoopsie!

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Malibu Rising is a story about one unforgettable night in the life of a family: the night they each have to choose what they will keep from the people who made them… and what they will leave behind.”

If I manage to get round to reading this it will be my first re read of 2024!

Taylor Jenkins Reid is one of my favourite authors, with the Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo brining my love of reading back. I love how she talks about independent and strong women.

I feel like when or if I get round to reading this book I will definitely be annotating it. I want to study how she writes and conveys things to give me inspiration and motivation to start writing.

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

“Jennifer Lynn Barnes’s The Naturals is a gripping novel with killer appeal and a to-die-for romance. Don’t miss the other books in the Naturals   Killer Instinct ,  All In , and  Bad Blood”

This is a series that I have seen all over BookTube and social media. A series about FBI agents recruiting special young individuals to solve cases.

Right up my street!

I think that this will be a perfect summer read so I am really looking forward to diving into this!

And that is it! There are the 6 books I hope to get round to this month. Are there any that you have read already? What is a book that you are looking forward to this month?

3 thoughts on “June Monthly Hopefuls”

    1. I’m planning on starting it tomorrow evening! So excited to get into it.
      I was debating to reread Priory, but as Day is technically the prequel I was thinking of just reading Priory again after reading Day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment