book-reviews, Uncategorized

Book Review #9: Circe

The bookclub pick of February was Circe by Madeline Miller, a Greek Mythological retelling of a minor Greek goddess.

This is not Madeline Miller’s first Greek retelling rodeo as she shot to fame within the book community with her retelling of Achilles’ story through the point of view of Patroclus. This was a 5 star book for me, so it made sense that Circe was a 5 star prediction!

I am a huge fan of Greek mythology and I have only heard of Circe’s story told via Percy Jackson when he visits Aiaia during his adventures in the Sea of Monsters…so I was intrigued to hear a different version of her story.

THE REVIEW

Summary of book

Woman. Witch. Myth. Mortal. Outcast. Lover. Destroyer. Survivor. CIRCE.

In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. Circe is a strange child – not powerful and terrible, like her father, nor gorgeous and mercenary like her mother. Scorned and rejected, Circe grows up in the shadows, at home in neither the world of gods or mortals. But Circe has a dark power of her own: witchcraft. When her gift threatens the gods, she is banished to the island of Aiaia where she hones her occult craft, casting spells, gathering strange herbs and taming wild beasts. Yet a woman who stands alone will never be left in peace for long – and among her island’s guests is an unexpected visitor: the mortal Odysseus, for whom Circe will risk everything.

So Circe sets forth her tale, a vivid, mesmerizing epic of family rivalry, love and loss – the defiant, inextinguishable song of woman burning hot and bright through the darkness of a man’s world.

Summary taken from goodreads

My thoughts: the layout of the book

The book was very slow and hard to get into.

Madeline Miller’s writing style is beautiful and poetic…but also leans into the feeling that some of the lines mentioned are there to ensure that they are Instagram worthy rather than aiding for the plot of the book to move along.

This poetic style mixed with the way too many characters in the book made this book more of a chore to read rather than a pleasure. Whenever there was any suspense or action I did not feel any connection to the characters and what was happening to them.

Essentially my thoughts on the layout of the book: could have been shorter, very monotonous and slow.

My thoughts: general

I know I am in the minority here, seeing as most of the people I follow on Goodreads have said that this was an automatic five star for them. But it just was not for me.

If Madeline Miller’s ultimate goal for this book was to introduce Greek mythology to readers then I really think that she did hit the mark. It is a beautifully written tale of Circe, but I think that this was the only thing she achieved with this novel.

The tale itself has too many characters introduced in the aim of moving the story along, but it just made the story a bit clunky and slow at times. The character who is mentioned within the blurb of the book, Odysseus, is only mentioned past the 50% mark of the book. You would think that someone mentioned in the blurb of the book would be mentioned sooner?

Odysseus is mentioned and we meet him – eventually – but I feel like now I need to read the Odyssey to better understand what had happened. That section in particular felt weird because it felt rushed but also that it dragged on.

Throughout the book there are multiple references to other mythological tales and happenings, but when they are mentioned it is just as if it were a passing gesture rather than a a part of Circe’s story or something that adds to her tale. This annoyed me to be honest as the book already felt like it had so many unnecessary parts that adding these other myths did not help.

But then again, adding those myths added some flavour to the book…so it may have been a good call to have kept them in.

In all honesty, this should not have been a 300+ paged book. It would have been better if it had been a novella that really just concentrated on Circe. We did not need to know about her walking around her island and deciding what to call her animals. Her ultimate isolation means that we have to spend most of our time with just Circe and thinking back I do not think I like her as a character, at least how she was portrayed in this novel.

I will not lie, I skimmed the last 80 pages. I just needed to get this book finished.

I will not lie, I skimmed the last 80 pages as I just needed to get this book finished (probably should have DNFd it but oh well!). Here are my spoiler thoughts on the end of the book (click to expand).

At the very end of Circe she drinks a potion and from I could gather she drank it to become mortal.

My first question: Which God/Goddess ever wanted to become a mortal? I am sure that there must have been one, but it just does not sit right that she wanted to become mortal from what I understand that Gods actually fear mortality and the thought of being mortal.

In all honesty there are many versions of this tale, but this is the first time where you can interpret her as becoming mortal.

Favourite quote

There are plenty of beautiful quotes in this book, but none that really hit the mark with me.

Would I recommend the book?

Personally, I would not recommend it. There are better retellings out there, granted this is the only one I have heard about Circe.

If you are looking to get into Greek mythology and you enjoy long descriptions then I think that you will enjoy the book.

Rating: 1.5 out of 5.